Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So yesterday was pretty much a perfect day! I mean we got up early To head down to Moore River. After a longish drive(I may have fallen asleep for a little while, so I’m not sure how long it actually was). So we are on top of this up huge hill looking down at this beautiful site. I am talking it’s where the river meets the sea, but there is a huge sand bar blocking the two from meeting. The contrast of the colours and just everything was just breathtaking! Yes I have pictures! Of course we had come prepped for everything, we had two packets of rolls, a full roast chicken, a jar of Mayo, sausage rolls, water, apples, grapes. Essentially you name it we probably had it, including plates and knifes!(to out Mayo on our rolls obviously, and we needed something to hack into the chicken). Anyway all this was just food, I haven’t included the tent, the picnic blanket, the bag of shovels and other beach toys, not to mention the two little kiddie kids!

dave went on ahead to check the way down etc, so we were set! Sort of…. Turns out we had to walk down the side of this hill, weighed down with all this gear. I was waiting for me to tumble-down cause this was a steep hill! I of course had Jamie so it wasn’t just my life on the line! Also holly was in front of me so if I fell she would be a goner too! Luckily we made it down safe, but we were really questioning how we would make it back up! I of course was in a dress, so climbing over fences and down hills was just an added bonus of things to worry about(the first being this breeze that would come ever now and again and would just insist on lifting my dress up). Safely at the bottom though we picked a spot on the sand bar and made our camp. I of course needed the loo, so I then had to set of on a journey of my own to find a toilet! I did, thank god but it was a good walk away, luckily I didn’t need to go that badly!

Alas I have grown slack in my watch for spiders, and of course when I was most vulnerable one decided to find me. Luckily I was on my way out of the toilet so I could just make a run for it! Making my way back I cam across a set of stairs… Which went right up to guess where? The car park! We had went down this treacherous slope for no reason! I figured we survived it unscathed so it was an adventure at least! As I was walking back I could hear someone calling my name, and Lo and behold Holly was squizzing around on the boogie board(with Dave pulling her along) having a blast! I went down to the beach, fully sure I got like third degree burns on my feet from this section of hot sand(it was only a patch of about five feet). I dipped my feet in the water and the water was nice! sitting back by the tent, you got a view of the ocean and the river, pure bliss.

I played with Jamie in the sand, we had our picnic, we went in the water, looked at the ocean, played in the tent. Jamie did this thing of squashing his face against the mesh back of the tent and just his face flaws hilarious! Gave me a giggle anyway!  I semi got a picture of that! Jamie didn’t want to get in the water and was ready to leave after we had our food! I distracted him by chasing him, for all of two seconds! I caught him and threw him in the air. When I was holding him he just looks at me and goes “car”, well looks like My plan of distraction crashed and burned ladies and gentlemen!

After another trip to the toilet, another dip in the water(for holly mostly to remove all the sand she had lodged into her skin) we packed up and fulfilled Jamie’s wishes of heading to the car. Back up the hill we went, me carrying Jamie again. I swear that was the only thing that stopped me from toppling back down and smushing holly and Louise! After a quick stop to catch my breath(hey the hill was steep and Jamie was heavy!) it was to the car! I fell asleep on the way home too! So I still have no idea how long the journey was!

i finished the day with a glass of wine, some chocolate and a book. Not a bad way to spend the first day of the year! Today I have been minding holly and Jamie so Louise and Dave could have a day off. Oh Jamie was just the cutest thing this morning! I was in the stage where you are awake, but you want that five more minutes just relaxing in your bed when I heard this patter of feet and someone trying to open my door. I was still half asleep as Louise came down and moved Jamie away from my door saying I was sleeping. Jamie was having none of this! He started to cry so Louise left him at the top of the hall hoping it would be quieter leaving him rather than him crying. As I opened my door to go out, Jamie was making his way back down th hall. When he seen me he started this run and looked to get picked up. How cute is that?

we had a day filled with frozen(again) craft and cars! i brought them down to the park before lunch. We lasted ten minutes, but we tried! There were no tears until I brushed Jamie’s teeth, he doesn’t like to get his teeth brushed! Otherwise I’m afraid to say Louise, they didn’t look for you! I find it funny though, cause they were on their best behaviour. They ate all their dinner, they had their fruit. There were no fights between them and Jamie Te his dinner in record time! Yet I am here nearly six months, so I’m like I know what you are like. I have seen the tantrums over dinner, yet once the babysitter mode is on they seem to act on their best behaviour. It’s funny!

anyway that is my past few days! Hope you all enjoyed New Years! I am currently debating a glass of wine and more chocolate! I have eaten my bar that I brought with me(eventually I can hear you mutter, well I only ate it cause I got another one from Christmas, that one however I am now debating over whether to open it or not….) I think I shall! I don’t make New Years resolutions so at least I’m not trying to be healthy! That’s all from me! I am off to get my wine and chocolate and curl up on the couch with my book!